Experts discuss business models and IT security at the Airlock Security Breakfast

From 14 September 2019, European Union banks will need to adopt an open approach towards third-party providers under the new PSD2 Directive. Swiss banks are opening up without regulatory requirements. Standards and platforms are being created with the aim of simplifying access to bank accounts for FinTechs. During the Airlock Security Breakfast, the current situation in Switzerland was examined closely; with both the effects on the banks’ business model and secure access management being discussed.  

Jürgen Petry, New Business Innovator at Raiffeisen Switzerland, and founder of the API Working Group of the Swiss Fintech Innovation Association (SFTI), gave an overview of the numerous API standardisation initiatives currently being undertaken in Switzerland:

It is important to build a knowledge platform across the entire API environment in Switzerland, and to provide full-featured test systems as well as simple sandboxes, so as to enable developers to carry out developments in these sandboxes and gain additional knowledge via the knowledge platform.

In addition, Petry explained why a Swiss API payment standard is needed, and why it is not possible to simply adopt the European NextGenPSD2 API. He explained that there are features of the ISO20022 message standard for payments that are specific to Switzerland and need to be considered. He also noted that the API initiative of the SFTI addresses not only payment transactions but also other business areas in banking (loans, portfolio management, etc.). Finally, Jürgen Petry emphasised that the various national standardisation initiatives must be able to work alongside one another, and also be in tune with international committees so that a sustainable solution can emerge. 

Marianne Wildi, CEO of Hypothekarbank Lenzburg, also presented a business model that has successfully reconciled the modern API economy with the transformation of the Hypothekarbank from traditional bank to digital financial services provider. She pointed out that

technology is important, but in the end you have to know where you position yourself in the market. It all comes together, Open API alone is not enough. The financial institution must know which unique selling propositions it has and on which a business model is based.

The Hypothekarbank Lenzbung has already integrated various Fintechs via APIs and, thanks to innovative providers, is reaching new customer groups who are now depositing their money in Lenzburg.  

Martin Zahner, Business Development Manager at Airlock, spoke of the effects of open banking on IT security and access management:

Banks have to offer their customers an attractive user experience via digital channels, otherwise they migrate to the FinTechs. This requires, among other things, trouble-free authentication. Likewise, as the APIs open up, there are also new weak points that have to be protected. User and identity management, such as the Airlock IAM - part of the Airlock Secure Access Hub - is able to define and enforce accurate access policies. Thus, only authorised persons can call up the data and services – also on the API. Banks have to offer their customers an attractive user experience via digital channels, otherwise they migrate to the FinTechs. This requires, among other things, trouble-free authentication. Likewise, as the APIs open up, there are also new weak points that have to be protected.

Blognews directly to your inbox

The Airlock Newsletter informs you continuously about new blog articles.

Subscribe blognews

Comments 0

More interesting articles

5 security challenges in an open banking ecosystem
Banking

5 security challenges in an open banking ecosystem

Security in concrete terms - 2FA in the banking world
2FA

Security in concrete terms - 2FA in the banking world

Securing the Payment Services Directive 2 (PSD2)
Banking

Securing the Payment Services Directive 2 (PSD2)

Information for you

-Our whitepapers-

Zero Trust is a journey

The digital transformation of the world continues to progress, and it is profoundly affecting private life and job profiles in a manner that was hard to imagine just a few years ago.

This whitepaper covers the effects of continuous digitization and its implications.

Request free of charge

Toward DevSecOps

In this whitepaper, you will learn the most important insights into how you can successfully and efficiently implement DevSecOps, which security components are required for this, and what benefits a microgateway architecture brings.

Request free of charge

Airlock 2FA - Strong Authentication. Easy.

The two-factor authentication in the area of IT security offers double the security.

Find out more about strong authentication and the possibilities that Airlock offers in our whitepaper.

Request free of charge

Further whitepapers

We provide whitepapers on these and other topics free of charge:

  • successful IAM projects
  • Compliance
  • Data protection (GDPR)
  • Introduction of PSD2
  • PCI DSS requirements
Request free of charge

Experten klären beim Airlock Security Breakfast über Geschäftsmodelle und die IT-Sicherheit auf

Ab dem 14. September 2019 müssen sich die Banken der Europäischen Union, im Rahmen der neuen Richtlinie PSD2, gegenüber Drittanbietern öffnen. Die Schweizer Banken öffnen sich ohne regulatorische Vorgaben. Es entstehen Standards und Plattformen, die Fintechs den Zugang zu den Bankkonten vereinfachen sollen. Während des Airlock Security Breakfast wurde der Stand der Dinge in der Schweiz unter die Lupe genommen – und sowohl die Auswirkungen auf das Geschäftsmodell der Banken, wie auch das sichere Access Management besprochen.  

Jürgen Petry, New Business Innovator der Raiffeisen Schweiz und Gründer der API-Arbeitsgruppe des Fachverbands Swiss Fintech Innovations (SFTI), gab einen Überblick der zahlreichen API-Standardisierungsinitiativen, die derzeit in der Schweiz aktiv sind:

Wichtig wird es, eine Wissensplattform über das ganze API-Biotop in der Schweiz aufzubauen, und vollwertige Testsysteme wie auch einfache Sandboxes zur Verfügung zu stellen, um Entwicklern die Möglichkeit zu geben, in diesen Sandboxes zu entwickeln und sich über die Wissensplattform zusätzliches Wissen anzueignen.

Zudem erklärte Petry, warum es einen schweizerischen API-Standard für den Zahlungsverkehr benötigt und nicht einfach die europäische nextGenPSD2-API übernommen werden kann. Dazu führte er aus, dass Schweiz-spezifische Ausprägungen des ISO20022-Nachrichtenstandardsfür den Zahlungsverkehr bestehen, die beachtet werden müssen. Zudem erläuterte er, dass die API-Initiative des SFTI nicht nur den Zahlungsverkehr, sondern darüber hinaus weitere Geschäftsfelder des Banking adressiert (Loans, Portfolio-Mgmt., u.v.m.). Abschliessend machte Jürgen Petry deutlich, dass die verschiedenen nationalen Standardisierungs-Initiativen zusammenarbeiten müssen und sich auch mit internationalen Gremien abstimmen sollen, damit eine zukunftsfähige Lösung entstehen kann. 

Zudem stellte Marianne Wildi, Vorsitzende der Geschäftsleitung der Hypothekarbank Lenzburg ein Geschäftsmodell vor, das die moderne API-Economy und den Wandel ihrer Hypothekarbank vom traditionellen Geldhaus zum digitalen Finanzdienstleister erfolgreich unter einen Hut gebracht hat. Zu bedenken gab sie, dass

Technik zwar wichtig ist, aber am Schluss muss man wissen, wo man sich am Markt positioniert. Das spielt alles zusammen, Open API alleine reicht nicht. Die Bank muss wissen, über welche Unique Selling Propositions sie verfügt und auf denen ein Geschäftsmodell aufbaut.

Ihre Hypothekarbank Lenzbung hat bereits verschiedene Fintechs über APIs integriert und erreicht dank innovativer Anbieter neue Kundengruppen, die ihr Geld nun in Lenzburg hinterlegen. 

Über die Auswirkungen von Open Banking auf die IT Security und das Access Management sprach Martin Zahner, Business Development Manager bei Airlock:

Banken müssen ihren Kunden eine ansprechende User Experience auf den digitalen Kanälen bieten, sonst wandern diese zu den Fintechs ab. Dafür braucht es ein nahtloses Nutzererlebnis - unter anderem eine reibungslose Authentifizierung.

Im Zuge der Öffnung der APIs entstehen auch neue Angriffspunkte. Diese müssen geschützt werden. Ein Identitätsmanagement wie das Airlock IAM, Teil des Airlock Secure Access Hub, ist in der Lage, genaue Zugriffsrichtlinien zu durchzusezten. So kann sichgestellt werden, das nur berechtigten Personen Daten und Services abrufen können.

Die OWASP Top 10 API Security Bedrohungen

APIs entwickeln sich voraussichtlich in den nächsten Jahren zur Hauptangriffsfläche von Webanwendungen. OWASP reagiert darauf mit einer neuen und spezialisierten Top-Ten-Liste für API-Security. Lesen Sie den im Heise Magazin veröffentlichten Fachartikel, um mehr über die neue OWASP Top 10 Liste, die Hintergründe und Verantwortlichkeiten zu erfahren.

Fachartikel lesen

Blognews direkt in Ihr Postfach

Der Airlock Newsletter informiert Sie laufend über neue Blogartikel.

Blognews abonnieren

Kommentare 0

Weitere interessante Artikel

5 Sicherheitsherausforderungen in einem Open-Banking-Ökosystem
Banken

5 Sicherheitsherausforderungen in einem Open-Banking-Ökosystem

Sicherheit konkret - 2FA in der Bankenwelt
2FA

Sicherheit konkret - 2FA in der Bankenwelt

Wie Banken die PSD2 Vorgaben sichern können
Banken

Wie Banken die PSD2 Vorgaben sichern können

Wir informieren Sie

-Unsere Whitepaper-

IT-Sicherheitslösungen

Die Digitalisierung stellt Unternehmen vor neue Herausforderungen, die weit über die IT hinausgehen. Das betrifft vor allem einen Aspekt, der heute immer wichtiger wird: Die IT-Sicherheit.

In unserem Whitepaper erfahren Sie, wie IT-Security zum Beschleuniger der Digitalisierung wird.

Kostenlos anfordern

Digitalisierung beschleunigen

Wer in der digitalen Transformation bestehen will, muss vermehrt auf Hybrid-Cloud Umgebungen umstellen. Dies erfordert neue Security Ansätze sowie ein abgestimmtes Identitäts- und Berechtigungsmanagement.

Erfahren Sie mehr dazu in unserem Whitepaper in Zusammenarbeit mit Deloitte, eperi und SHE.

Kostenlos anfordern

OWASP Top 10 für API Sicherheit

OWASP hat eine neue Top10 Liste für API Security erstellt. Die gelisteten Top 10 geben einen breiten Konsens darüber wieder, was die derzeit wichtigsten API Sicherheitsthemen sind.

In unserem Whitepaper erfahren Sie, wie unsere Airlock API die OWASP Top 10 adressiert.

Kostenlos herunterladen

Weitere Whitepaper

Zu folgenden weiteren Themen stellen wir Ihnen kostenlos Whitepaper zur Verfügung:

  • erfolgreiche IAM Projekte
  • Compliance
  • Datenschutz (DSGVO)
  • Einführung von PSD2
  • PCI DSS Anforderungen
Kostenlos anfordern